Home » 10 things tuesdays » A return, A revelation, A response; Tuesday’s Ten

A return, A revelation, A response; Tuesday’s Ten

Alright, alright – I fell off the blog bandwagon there for a bit and now I’m back.

I think.

Let’s just take each day as it comes, shall we? With tea and happy thoughts and much lower expectations on my end.

You see, I’m absolutely, totally, utterly and incredibly Pregnant.

Yuppers.

That’s me. Oh, so preg-O.

I’m going to have a baby. There’s a tiny person inside me *right now*, growing away and making their mum long for naps and salty carbs.

Did you hear the shouts at about 7:45 AM last Monday (eastern standard time) when Alex and I found out that we are the delighted parents of a poppy seed-sized baby *someone*? Obviously, we’re not sure what the little boot is, though we keep inadvertently referring to him as, well, ‘him’, but just knowing that someone is really *there* is enough for now.

How do you describe it? I will attempt to do so with this Tuesday’s Ten Things…

1) Shocked; it worked! I know they *said* it would – but it did. Really. We did it. We made a baby. Um, ta-da! Is it weird to feel really accomplished?

2) Thankful; God worked! Sure we happened to be in all the right spots at all the right times, but do you have any idea what a miracle this is? How can there possibly be pregnant atheists?! This is so obviously the work of the Lord, it’s overwhelming because it’s happening IN ME. Someone exists now that didn’t before. There is a tiny soul inside me, placed there by God Himself. Incredible, absolutely incredible.

3) Full; I feel full. Full of love for my husband and our child. Full of purpose and intentions and hopes and dreams and worries and cravings and wonderings and supposings and plans and questions and deeper than usual thoughts. I feel full of life – which seems slightly contradictory seeing how my life now consists of barely more than eating, sleeping and trudging to the bathroom.

4) Happy; I’m a mama! I am so happy – purely, surely happy with all the gloss and shininess that goes along with it. Even when I get to feeling a little strained, just remembering *why* puts a smile on my face – I’ve got a baby.

5) Reverent. Life looks so different to me after seeing those two shadowy blue lines cross on that test – it really *means* something. Suddenly, I’m not thinking about ‘will this food make me fat’, but, ‘is this good for the baby?’. It’s amazing and surprisingly hard to describe, there is a deep part of me that feels very solemn and silent before the life that is  being woven together inside me. It’s so serious and fierce and strong.

6) Tired. Knock-down, drag out exhausted. So tired.

7) Hot. As in, literally on fire… I wasn’t aware that there would be hot flashes.

8) Preoccupied – Because I am not thinking about what you are saying, I am thinking about something else all together, probably baby-related. Sorry.

9) Honored. I am so honored to be the mother of Alex’s child, I can hardly say. He is the best of men and will be the very best of fathers and when I get to thinking about it I am overwhelmed. Overwhelmed, I say.

10) Out Of Control. In a way, at least, I feel as much a passenger as this little one. This being my first time around the block, I have very little idea of what to expect. I’ve read enough books to have some knowledge about it, but that’s not enough. Even if the knowledge is there, the *feeling* is still totally NEW. It’s so weird. It’s not just me anymore.

 

So there you have it, 10 Things from me about being pregnant. I’m quite sure this isn’t going to turn into some Mommy Blog, but I’m sure the kiddo will make an appearance now and again. We’ll have to come up with a cute nickname so we don’t have to call it “It” the whole time.

Any suggestions?

4 thoughts on “A return, A revelation, A response; Tuesday’s Ten

  1. This warms the very cockles of my heart. You weren’t listening, were you? I SAAAIIIID “This warms the very cockles of my heart!”

    And you should call ‘it’ Baby. You just should. ‘Cause it’s cute and makes sense. And that’s my $.02.

    • I must admit, my cockles were pretty warmed by the news as well… and, as ever, your $.02 are always welcome in my corner of the World Wide Web Void!

  2. WOW, I had tears in my eyes when I read this post. I am sooooooooooo HAPPY for you!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so glad you are back and okay, well, more than okay, That is such great news and you can blog about it all you want!!!! Here is 10 ideas for what to call “it”
    1. Definately NOT it! Baby is great, as Castle of Blue has recommended
    2. Cutie, cause he/she is definately going to be
    3. Precious, Cause he/she is a gift from God
    4. Bundle of Joy, Cause when he/she comes into this world you will be filled with joy even
    more than now!
    5. Sweetems, just cause…
    6. Baby
    7. Baby
    8. Baby
    9. Baby
    10. What ever makes you feel happy!!!!
    Congratulations, This is the best news I have heard in a long time. I am so happy for you, did I say that yet? I am so excited for you !!!! Since I am unable to have children, I am so happy that God chose you two to bring a precious “someone” into this world, cause I know you love God and you will be great parents. Again Congratulations!!!!!

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

