Home » in the kitchen » Harvest Party

Harvest Party

It’s coming into harvest time, and what a time it is! Probably my favorite of the year… but I say that about every season, I think…

Our modest little garden has outdone itself and far outreached our meager expectations of it, we’ve had tomatoes like crazy as well as four good pickings of green beans, enough cucumbers to keep us on our toes and all the salad we could eat in earlier months. It’s been wonderful. We planted three types of tomatoes, one was an early producer with well mannered plants and petite, perfectly shaped fruit and the other two are monster heirloom varieties that sprawled everywhere and literally ate one of their unassuming pepper plant neighbors. They produced frighteningly large, misshapen tomatoes and several green peppers (not really, it only seemed like that because I waded into them the other day and recovered the consumed plant, finding that in spite of its interment with the Amazonian tomatoes, it still managed to pop out a couple of peppers… amazing.)

I feel it only fair to mention that Alex took the lovely, well-behaved ones under his gentle wing in the Spring and tied them up nicely and cared for them, thus creating a lush tomato paradise, while the feral heirlooms were my territory. No tying, no gentle wing, just wild, uninhibited growth. One of us is a real gardener, the other is something of a impatient seed scatterer. It will be fascinating to see what comes of our children….

We didn’t grow any zucchini this year, I was banking on the fact that come August, everyone has zucchini in abundance and I would be able to get some for little or no money. I was right! A friend of ours donated three HUGE zucchini to our harvest cause and I was able to freeze seven quarts of shredded zucchini one morning. There is no room for anything else in our apartment-sized fridge freezer, but by golly – we’ll have zucchini coming out our ears till May.

I’ve made nearly two gallons of fresh garden salsa- all from our own tomatoes and peppers and ruined a huge pot of would-be spaghetti sauce, please don’t ask how – it was tragic and I haven’t really forgiven myself yet. Here me now – I will never, ever, ever, ever, EVER, ever again use identical containers to store salt and sugar. I will not forget to label said containers. I will not automatically assume that I have the right container and continue to add the WRONG thing to my sauce, ending with a salty, inedible MESS. Never. EVER. The End.

It’s been grand and we are so thankful to Alex’s mom for giving us her beautiful garden boxes, to our Landlord for letting us hog his tiny yard, and most of all to our Lord, who sent the rain and sun and gave the increase. Praise God from whom ALL blessing flow… Amen.

4 thoughts on “Harvest Party

  1. Hello, dont feel bad, I am sure others have done the same thing, I know I have made my share of uh, ohs too. In fact I remember helping my dad can pickles one time when he was still alive and he got the salt and sugar mixed up too, but what he did also was to can them anyway “hoping” he didnt really make that mistake, and the look on his face when he bit into that “salty” pickle was priceless, I will never forget it!! It was so funny, so when I read your post I had to laugh (sorry), not at you but for you, thats mostly because you have such an uncanny way of putting things into words. Sorry about your loss of sauce tho. You could always look at it this way, God is probably smiling too, cause you learned something about Him and yourself. Have a blessed day. Correna

    • Don’t feel bad about laughing, I sure did! Well, after I got over the fact that I had ruined my sauce of course… I thought about trying to just bear with it and eat it anyway, but it was WAY too salty! Thank you for sharing the story about your dad, that made me feel a little better 😉

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

