Home » days on end » psssssst…

psssssst…

I wanted to tell you about something. Come closer… because I’m actually whispering.

I have come up with a meal planning idea that just might work. Just might.

Thanks to the many dozens of people I have stalked and creepily asked about their meal planning methodology, I do believe that I’ve found something that will suit our needs PERFECTLY.

Ok, you can move away now, I’m done whispering.

Here it is in black and white (because I can’t figure out how to change the color of the fonts on this silly program).

Each week I will pick 7 meals using ingredients I have or will purchase:

1 Breakfast (because I think breakfast needs a chance to be the ‘most popular’ meal)

1 Casserole/Soup ( two things I would love to make more of)

1 “Ethnic” (Curry, yum…)

1 Salad/Vegetarian ( we like to have a ‘lighter’ meal now and again)

1 Easy/Quick/Simple (for the days we spend away and get home minutes before dinner time)

1 Never Before Tried (can you say ‘cabbage rolls’)

1 Other  (sort of self-explanatory – – and if it isn’t, hang in there, I’ll explain in a bit)

So – once the meals are picked, I can arrange them through the week as needed. The nights I work we can have the casserole or easy dish, a night we have more time I could fix something new and exciting. If I have certain ingredients that need to be used sooner, that meal will come at the beginning of the week. The “Other” meal can be used for leftovers or if we eat out or just decided to have a ‘movie and a snack night’, which happens sometimes. This way, there’s always something different going on at meal time and at least once a week we’ll try something totally new. I’m inordinately excited about it.

Ta-stinking-da.

Alright, I just needed to share that.

Bye now.

20120822-184742.jpg

the menu board. in its former life it was a cheap picture frame at Wal*Mart… we made it into something Awesome with a little chalk board paint – boy howdy, I love that stuff!!

10 thoughts on “psssssst…

  1. Very impressive! I’m curious about the peach pie pancakes…you have my mouth watering! Peaches are in full swing here right now and I love going to the market for that one single reason, I think.

  2. Do you use Allrecipes.com? It’s a great site to search for recipes by ingredient, I use it all the time when I have something I want to use up…

    • I get into ruts, too and we start having the same handful of things every week. I think this method might help spur me on to great culinary variety…

  3. I too am looking forward to the peach pie pancake recipe, because peaches are my favorite fruit. Also, I’m curious about the Tomato Pie on your chalkboard.

    I’ve recently started trying to get more creative with my cooking too, because I had also gotten into a rut. You’ve inspired me to switch things up a little more. Thanks!

    • Both of those recipes are coming up next week… isn’t the suspense delicious? Peaches are my favorite fruit too, yet another reason why we must share some sort of kindred cosmic blood… or something. I thought of you the other day while watching Doctor Who, they were talking to dead people.

  4. What a great idea!!!! Love this! I too have been looking for an idea on meal planning. This is great and I think I am going to try this. Thanks so much for sharing and for doing the hard part and coming up with the “LIST”. I am definately going to make a plan this weekend for a couple of weeks and see how it goes. You are so creative. Have a great day. Correna

    • I can’t take much credit for being creative or clever, this idea is simply the mutant offspring of many other clever and creative people’s menu planning genius 🙂 Glad it helped though, you’ll have to let me know how it works for you!

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

