Home » days on end » This is the way we scrub the tub

This is the way we scrub the tub

Seems like my natural cleaning idea got some cogs turning, so I thought I would write a little and share my first homemade cleaning product adventure.

Aren’t you excited?

Better get some popcorn, I’ll wait.

So – I thought that we’d just slowly transition as we ran out of cleaning products, and then anything still left clinging to the side of the cupboard at the turn of the year will be ousted and replaced.

What was the first cleaning buddy to finish the race? Scouring Powder, because I love it so and use it on everything. Everything. AND – I am a die-hard brand nazi on this one, Comet is the *only* way to go. I’ve tried the all-natural stuff, Bar Keeper’s Friend, and several other brands and never found one I was as satisfied with as Comet. Unfortunately, it’s not that good for you. Not good at all. I can’t deny that it does a kick-butt job cleaning, though. The only problem I’ve ever had is that it seems to NEVER wash off. I don’t care how many times I rinse, there remains a light, bleachy, powdery film – yum – don’t you just want that left all over your baking pans and tub?

I didn’t think so. Well, neither do I. The Comet ran out this morning and I turned to the first homemade replacement in my recipe file (I’ve been collecting homemade cleaning product recipes – like a geek).

Baking Soda; it’s the other white scouring powder. You can buy it for a ridiculously little amount of money and it’s not going to kill you, always a bonus when considering something you clean with.

I filled a quart jar with baking soda that I bought at the co-op (for about a dollar) and then added a few drops of various essential oils; peppermint, basil and lavender. Then I shook the daylights out of it to mix the oils into the powder. Already the stuff smelled a whole lot better then Comet (although, who isn’t secretly attracted to the scent of bleach??)

Viola – we’re ready to scrub-a-dub-dub!

To be super cool, and nifty-like, I cut the top off of an empty salt container and used that for the lid of the jar, screwing the band around it so it stayed on. It now has a handy pouring spout. Thank you, Pinterest, for making me look so clever.

Time to clean the bathroom. I usually use Comet to scrub the sink, inside of the toilet bowl and shower stall/tub. Today I just shook my scenty baking powder all over and then doused it with some white vinegar (in a squirt bottle, the same vinegar I use for my hair). It makes a satisfying volcano of cleaning power and all I can think is that it’s like those cleaning bubble guys you see on T.V. – on steroids. I then proceeded to clean as I usually do, scrubbing and singing and rinsing and everything came out spotless – with no creepy, bleachy residue. The tub squeaked with cleanliness and the sink faucet shone. It didn’t take me any longer to clean this way, in fact I think I had to rinse everything a whole lot less which made it quicker.

Sorry, Comet – you done been shown up, big time.

…the dynamic cleaning duo…

My cleaning basket and its residents. Comet has given its spot to baking soda. The remaining items are; Windex, Murphy’s Floor cleaner, and Simple Green all purpose cleaner.

4 thoughts on “This is the way we scrub the tub

  1. That’s it? Just baking soda and vinegar? I even have some lavender essential oil in my bathroom I have no clue what to do with, I’ll give it a try and let you know how it goes…

    • This actually worked really well (not that I ever *seriously* doubted you) on my bathroom sink which is about a 6 on a scale of 1-10 of utter disgustingness. My shower on the other hand is off the charts so that will be the real test…by the way what does vinegar do for your hair?

      • YAY! I love clean sinks – makes my heart happy.
        Vinegar does quite a bit for my hair. Once or twice a week I use a diluted vinegar rinse in my hair to keep it soft and shiny. It washes away the grime (yes, grime) keeps any scratchy dry spots on my scalp appeased and softens my somewhat vicious frizz into well-behaved, shiny curls. It works better than any of the curl shampoos out there – and believe me, I have tried them ALL.

  2. Yay! We’ve used baking soda for many things, but I haven’t tried it in the tub yet. And I should, because the stuff mom gets to clean the shower is positively toxic and I don’t dare use it without the windows open.

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

