Home » 10 things tuesdays » Tuesday and Ten start with the same letter

Tuesday and Ten start with the same letter

And I was clever enough to figure that out….

Aren’t you impressed?

10 Invaluable Kitchen Things My Mother Taught Me

1) Hot pan, cool oil – food won’t stick.

2) Don’t let your man leave home hungry.

3) Buy meat on sale – even if you don’t really need it *this* week – it will be worth it when you do. Stick it in the freezer.

4) Have a stash. Keep your cupboards well stocked and you’ll always have what you need when you need it.

5) How to Make a Roux.

6) How to make granola.

7) How to be bold and daring and creative in the kitchen – keep things interesting.

8) How to make good biscuits

9) How to use my senses rather than a recipe.

10) My mother taught me to love my kitchen, to make it ‘My Space’, a workable, comfortable, joyful place for everyone to be – the real Heart of the Home.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday and Ten start with the same letter

  1. Hello, Impressed? yes, most definately. Ok, heres goes: 10 things my mother taught me were-
    1. Clean as you go, in the end clean up will be quick and you will be glad you did.
    2. Setting the table “the right way”!
    3. How to make biscuits and
    4. apple pie with HOMEMADE pie crust
    5. Measure, don’t guess
    6. how to grease and flour a pan correctly
    7. keep cleaning as you go!!!!
    8. keep a well stocked fridge, freezer, and cupboards
    9. how to make homemade spaggetti sauce and stock for soups
    10. use salt when cooking macaroni (although I dont do that anymore), but it was important to her and still bugs me about it when she is around and I am cooking pasta.
    Hows that? This one was pretty easy, you are getting me to think, at least once a week anyway!!! Have a great day.
    Ps. By the way, I dont comment til Wed. because for some reasons I dont get your blog til Wed. Am.
    Correna

    • You can comment whenever you like! Thank you for sharing šŸ˜‰ You have *me* thinking of interesting 10 things subjects… any ideas?
      Andi

      • Well, maybe 10 things we love about summer, 10 favorites recipes to cook, 10 things we love about gardening, 10 things that make our husbands smile, dont know something like that maybe?
        Correna

      • I love it… I schedule the Tuesday posts several weeks in advance, but you will certainly be seeing some of these in the near future! Thanks so much
        šŸ™‚

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

