Home » in the kitchen » Big Batch Biscuits for a little bitty family

Big Batch Biscuits for a little bitty family

We are a small people, consisting of just my husband and I at the present, we don’t even have a goldfish to throw table scraps to. We do have a jade plant named Jade Austen (thank you, honey) but she doesn’t eat very much.

And she’s very quiet.

The hardest part about cooking for two people is that I am used to cooking for five people with very large appetites – which means I like to cook too much food at one time.

Way too much food.

Sometimes, however, I can make this quirk work to my own advantage.

*I love it when that happens*

I have discovered the joys of freezing left-over food. Let’s face it, if I just stuck my HUGE pot of spaghetti sauce in the fridge, we’d be eating it every meal for a week, and that’s just not going to help our darling little marriage along, now is it?

BUT – if I portion up the sauce into meal-sized quantities and freeze it, it’s there for a busy day to pop out and thaw and enjoy. Viola. *This* make for happiness and marital bliss.

So, here’s the recipe for my Quick and Easy, Big Batch Biscuits.

“These don’t even need jam…” 

My hungry husband

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups all purpose white flour

5 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons salt

2 Tablespoons sugar (optional)

5-8 Tablespoons butter (or your choice of shortening)

1 1/2 cups milk

Sift together the dry ingredients, then cut in the fat until the flour has reached damp-sand consistency. Now, add the milk and blend briefly, until all the flour is wet and the dough is sticking together.

Now, I suppose you could gently roll out the dough and cut your biscuits like that, but I had other things to do at the time, so I just spread the biscuit dough out onto a greased baking sheet and baked them at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. Check them often though, my oven is funny remember and there ain’t nothing worse than burnin’ your biscuits!

Howdy ma’am, this here’s my boss,

and he has some choice words to say about your biscuits...”

-McKlintock

After they’d cooled, I simply cut them into squares and served them like that. Then, I quartered the remaining biscuits and stuck them in the freezer for another day.

YUM.

Poetry is the synthesis of hyacinths and biscuits.”

Carl Sandburg

4 thoughts on “Big Batch Biscuits for a little bitty family

  1. “Well… they’re GREAT!”

    I love McKlintock. I think we watched it about 4,583 times growing up.

    “You fire me – I kill myself!”

    “You kill yourself, I’ll cut off your pig-tail ‘n’ you ain’t never gonna git to heaven.”

    • Oh. My. Word.
      I don’t know how many millions of times my brothers and I have threatened to kill ourselves over being fired… only to be thwarted by the thought of having our pigtails cut off!! Awesome… awesome.

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

