Home » days on end » Sourly, we roll along

Sourly, we roll along

Alright, so “Sourly” isn’t exactly the most original tag for our fragrant bundle of joy – but it works.

This morning I followed Part Two of  Stephanie’s directions (Read them HERE) and then put Sourly out in the creepy attic space next to the kitchen to ferment some more. She lets her sourdough proof in the fridge for 12-14 hours, but I am going to make mine later today, so it’s proofing in the warmth. The creepy attic keeps a pretty stable warmth that should keep Sourly working away for the next couple hours… I know the picture isn’t real clear about that, I ran out of space on my plastic wrap… apologies!

I read in my ‘Adventures in Sourdough’ book that 80 degrees (Fahrenheit) is about perfect for percolating a sourdough loaf, so I attached our thermometer to the top of the bowl so I could monitor just exactly how warm the creepy attic space is.

Will I do this every time? Probably not – but I’d like to know all the same, plus it makes me feel really professional, which is important.  Very Important.

Well then -I’m off!

– A

2 thoughts on “Sourly, we roll along

  1. I have never tried sourdough, it just sounds so complicated…I don’t have fancy things like spare mixing bowls (except for the one we save exclusively for vomiting children) and thermometers that aren’t permanently affixed to outdoor structures, not to mention the patience, I’m kind of an instant gratification sort of person. I bet that’s damn good bread though…

    • It IS good bread! And I must admit, even with the thermometer (which was stolen from the fridge) and the extra bowl (stolen out from under the fruit it usually bears) I still managed to *not* do it perfectly. Good news is – it’s tasty anyway.
      Jump in there- make your freestyle sourdough. We might be the first generation of bakers to actually care what temp the starter is…
      😉

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

