Home » Great Chicken Challenge » coconut chicken curry

coconut chicken curry

You thought I forgot, didn’t you?

You thought I had forgotten about the Great Chicken Challenge.

NEVER!

True, our sultry, poultry friend had to sit in the freezer for a week or so while I recovered, but I thawed out the two thighs and drumsticks a couple of days ago and made a curry.

Hurray!

True, I used four pieces of meat, but it fed both of us for two meals – it worked.

First:

I cooked one entire sliced onion and a clove of diced garlic in a bit of coconut oil in my big cast iron skillet until they were just about caramelized.

Then:

I added some curry powder and ginger (a good teaspoon of the ginger and half again as much of the curry powder) and let it all simmer and turn gold.

Then:

I removed the onions and seared the chicken pieces in the hot oil for a couple of minutes on all sides so that they had a little crust on them.

Then:

I poured in half a can of Thai Kitchen, lower fat coconut milk and added one potato that I had washed and cut into little pieces *plus* the onions that had been waiting on the sidelines.

I covered the whole lot, reduced the heat to low and let it cook for a good 45 minutes.

Oh. My. Word.

Then:

We ate it with brown rice. It was such a deep, creamy tasting dish – it came out very well. I love the coconut milk!

Cost Per Serving – $2.00, roughly. The coconut products are a little pricey, but so worth it.

SO what is that so far?

One chicken: 2 People: 4 different meals: 14-16 very generous servings of food

I’m impressed… We’ve done a salad, a soup, a ‘straight chicken meal’, and a curry. I’ve still got the giblets and the entire back to use – things are going to get creative! Plus, we still want to do the ‘chicken deconstruction tutorial video’ – doesn’t that sound peachy?!

Stay Tuned folks-

Andi

2 thoughts on “coconut chicken curry

  1. I am always amazed at how far one chicken can go. I discovered whole chickens when I was in law school and poor as a church mouse. I still love to grab whole chickens when they’re on sale (srsly, if wealth were measured by how many chickens you have in the freezer, I’d be a rich woman!).

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

