Home » in the kitchen » you say ‘addict’ like it’s a bad thing

you say ‘addict’ like it’s a bad thing

But I will have you know – who ever you are – that I have gotten some of the best food ideas I have ever SEEN on Pinterest.

Like this one:

I mean, really – who ever truly knows what to do with a cauliflower. You buy them on sale, they sit in your crisper looking a white, frozen brain – it’s creepy. The only decent way to end the thing is by boiling it to death in salty water, cutting it into little pieces and dipping it in ranch dressing at parties or- if thee be ambitious – baking it in a cheesy casserole. Cheesy Brain Casserole. I’m lovin’ it!

I was standing in my kitchen, feeling rather claustrophobic about the lack of options for my own personal cauliflower and then it hit me –

Pinterest.

Just like that -like some Good Kitchen Fairy suddenly appeared and smacked me with the computer mouse. Search for cauliflower ideas on Pinterest.

Make that addiction work.

So I did. And I made baked cauliflower with herb seasoning and pine nuts.

Sounds infinitely more interesting than cheesy brains.


Baked Cauliflower

1 head of cauliflower cut into florets

enough olive oil to toss the cauliflower in – I probably used 4 or 5 good Tablespoons.

Seasonings of your choice.

Not only did I use my addiction to Pinterest to find the inspiration for this meal, but I cheated and used an all natural spice packet that came in a box of couscous mix that we ate the couscous from – *without* the mix at a previous meal.

Wow.

But you don’t have to depend on your mental weaknesses, you can spice up your cauliflower with curry powder and turmeric or basil and garlic or ginger and sesame seeds. The sky’s the limit people… the sky is the limit.

Toss the cauliflower with the oil and then the seasonings, making sure they’re all covered pretty well. Toss onto a baking sheet – or if your baking sheet is irreparably damaged by past abuse (as is mine), feel free to use a glass casserole dish. Be my guest. Now, it goes into the oven at about 350 degrees, until the cauliflower is well browned. Mine was cooking for about 30 minutes until I panicked and remembered that it was baking. Turns out that was the perfect amount of time.

viola

Let that be a lesson to you.

6 thoughts on “you say ‘addict’ like it’s a bad thing

  1. “Round these parts, we call it Roasted Cauliflower and for my taste, there is nothing better. I also use cauliflower in stir-fry. Just remember to cut the pieces small enough to cook quickly.

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

