Home » days on end » and so we beat the butter

and so we beat the butter

This is going to be one of those awful posts in which I ramble on and on about my random life and don’t really say anything helpful or clever or tasty at all.

I hope you are prepared.

Almost a week ago I had my four wisdom teeth *extracted* – my mouth feels strangely dumb and empty without them, but all the same – they are gone. I have spent the past many days in a semi-delirium of pain and pain medications as one of the sockets slowly dried out instead of healing.

*cue return to surgeon, snipping of stitches, scraping of bone, inducing of bleeding, more  stitches, more pain meds – NOW*

I am feeling much better now, thank you, and have begun weaning myself off the narcotics so that I may do useful things like think and work and cook dinner.

All I remember from the last week has blended together in my mind like one big smoothy of ice cream, salt water, antibiotics, and this strange image of Julia Child, standing over a stick of cold butter, waving a gigantic wooden rolling pin around in the air while saying, “And so we must beat the butter…” in her cheerful, breathless way.

I am left thinking, “Was it real?”

Was it?

4 thoughts on “and so we beat the butter

  1. I dare say it was real. I have seen recipes in her book that tell you to beat the butter. 😀 Your experience sounds horrendous though… and I’ve now decided that I’m just going to pretend I don’t have any wisdom teeth, never get them removed and just hope for the best. *nod*

    • Oh. It wasn’t *that* bad – I’m not dead, am I? Of course for a couple of days the jury seemed to be out on the subject… but I’m right as rain now!
      😉

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

