Home » Great Chicken Challenge » the great chicken challenge

the great chicken challenge

“…. a challenge for only the brave at heart…”

 

Yes, that means you.

Hello, random reader. My arm is almost completely better (thanks to the life-saving efforts of my ever-lovely physical therapist, Darcy) which is good for me – bad for the blog. It means I am back to working part time (a mixed blessing, I suppose) and actually doing things like gardening, serious bike riding, knitting, tying my shoes, and other things that were virtually impossible three months ago. ย This, reader, is why I haven’t been doing the writing thing so much lately.

I, once more, have a life which involves both arms.

Can I get an Amen?

This week at our angled apartment, we are embarking on a challenge having to do with the plump chicken now sitting in the frigid-aire.

How many meals can I get from one chicken?

You are about to witness something worthy of its own reality T.V. show.

2 people, 4 appetites (all this bike-riding and shoe tying has increased my desire to eat, and happily, my ability to!) 1 chicken. How many meals?

We start today; Friday, the 27th day of April, with a 5.8 pound bird that cost $1.59 per pound for a total of $9.22. Here are some of the questions I am challenging myself to answer:

1) How many meals can be prepared from this chicken, remembering that we both have hearty appetites. It was Alex’s request that I be *reasonable* (I am always reasonable…) and not do something like use the chicken skin to flavor a rice dish. Doesn’t count. We need meat, people. We need to feel Satisfied in the end – like we’ve had chicken!! The challenge ends when the chicken does…

2) How much money per meal, person and serving? This may be a little tricky, but I am going to try to figure it out the best I can and report back with my findings. What do you think? Should I go pound for pound? How picky should I be with counting the cost of ingredients?

3) Also, I would love to do a comparison using common restaurant prices. Exactly how cheap can we get while still ending up with a good, hearty, delicious meal? Hmmmmm??? How does *my* chicken alfredo match up with Olive Garden’s? I know every one says it’s cheaper to cook at home, but exactly *how much* cheaper?

4) Will we ever be able to eat chicken again after having it so often in a short period of time? This, I believe, will be answered by the variety of meals we have. I want to do very different tasting dishes each time so we don’t grow tired because, really, when you’ve grown tired of food, well – what remedy can be offered? I’m thinking chicken chili, grilled chicken, chicken nuggets, chicken curry, chicken soup of some sort, chicken pot pie – – we’ll see. It’s all about being creative.

5) Can I remember to take pictures of each meal? Probably not, but my intentions are noble as I begin with saying – “YES!! THERE WILL BE PICTURES.”

 


SO. There you go. The Great Chicken Challenge.

Are you with me?

Humbly submitted by – me.

6 thoughts on “the great chicken challenge

  1. i can hardly wait to read it! i have to tell you i am a fan of your writing! made scalloped potatos the other night.. yum!

  2. Fun! I look forward to seeing the results. And my mom claims to have found the perfect pastry for chicken pot pie that really makes it taste like *chicken pot pie*, but I haven’t tried it myself. Yet.

    • oooo… I am most intrigued, most intrigued indeed! You shall have to share. I am going to try to make a chicken pot pie that doesn’t clog my husband’s arteries, he isn’t yet used to rich, Midwestern food ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Okay, here’s the slightly vague recipe she uses:

        1 1/2 C flour
        1 12 tsp sugar
        1 tsp salt

        combine

        1/2 C oil
        2-3 Tblsp cold milk

        Add to dry ingredients and mix.

        For the bottom crust, you can press the pastry into the pan and pre-bake roughly 15 minutes. For the top crust, roll the dough between two layers of wax paper (or maybe parchment paper?). I believe it’s a bit fussy, but my mom claims it makes all the difference between eating what tastes like chicken stew in pie crust and what tastes like chicken-pot-pie.

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

