Home » days on end » i got the friday blues

i got the friday blues

It’s Friday night and I am once again huddled up on the couch, watching Shrek 4 for the seventeen-bajillionth time. It has become my mindless, feel-good movie of choice.  I gathered my water bottle, T.V. remote, cell phone, Bible and laptop around me and am determined not to move until my husband comes home in the morning. This is my stake-out.

For the last two months, Alex’s days off have been Friday and Saturday, which meant Sunday bore the brunt of my “Back-to-Work-Blues”, but this month his weekend has moved to the middle of the week, and my dislike has shifted to Friday. Will I ever get used to that empty feeling of the first night he goes back to work? The house doesn’t like it, and neither do I.

I have no inducement to go to bed on Friday nights, and am too tired to do anything productive, so I will probably just sit here and vegetate until I accidentally slip into sleep, probably while Shrek is playing through for the third time…..

Here I go.

Sincerely,

me

 

2 thoughts on “i got the friday blues

  1. Oh dear…it sounds like you were well surrounded and settled for the night! If I were closer I would have come over and we could have had a good chat.

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

