Home » where the wind lives » riding the bus with my apple

riding the bus with my apple

Heavens-to-Betsy

I’m going to start posting random homework assignments now?

You bet your sweet life I am.

I am thoroughly enjoying this creative writing course, even when they ask for random things like:

Write a short poem in which eating an apple on a crowded city bus is a metaphor for something else.”

????

I had five minutes, this is what ensued.

All alone with my apple on a crowded city bus,
Like loving you in the midst of this frenzied world of fuss.
The heat and their eyes fill the busy, breathless air, and
Your sweetness runs down my chin- they’re watching, I don’t care.
So kiss me now, me with apple breath,
While the whole world bustles past,
And bite by bite we’ll enjoy the trip
Because bus rides just don’t last.
Ta-Da.
"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

