Home » days on end » random thoughts from me in the middle of the night

random thoughts from me in the middle of the night

You heard it.

No recipes, no witty stories about my past (“Wait,” I hear you say, “there were witty stories about your past?”)

No cute pictures (Ok, maybe one or two)

Just random thoughts from me in the middle of the night because after listening to me read four chapters in Luke and a good chunk of God’s discourse in Job, my husband has fallen dead asleep on the couch and I am left alone.

Alone with you, dear reader, for company. I’m sorry.

I dislike talking on the phone. Intensely. If you are reading this, and you are someone I talk to on the phone, don’t be downcast, I probably love talking to *you*, even on the phone. It isn’t *you*, it’s the phone. I don’t know why. Maybe because my phone interrupts me by making random phone calls to *other* people while I am in the middle of a conversation. Maybe because my phone thinks that I am Carl Miller (if you are reading this, Carl Miller- there is some home security company who wants to protect your home. They keep calling me but I feel I can’t set something up for you since I don’t know your address..) and lies to people’s caller id, sending them into mild panic, wondering about this ‘Carl Miller’ fellow and why he would be calling them. I am not Carl Miller, but let’s face it, I have always had a problem with phones, just like I have had problems with vacuum cleaners and blenders. I don’t know why- it has always been thus, it isn’t my new phone’s fault at all.

And maybe I am just not technically advanced enough to work the things. Maybe. Maybe I need a personal upgrade. Ann, version 2.0.

Retro is much more my style…. dig it?

My husband and I are threatening to take up running. I love to cook, I love to eat, I love to write, I love the *idea* of being thin and in shape; I wish I loved to exercise as much. We *both* hate to run- so why did we pick this as a recreation? Because we’re too stinking happy, that’s why! Something had to change, and so we decided to take up- not knitting, not fishing, not polo or bridge, but running. I think we will learn to like it. After those first few thousand excruciating miles, I will probably even look forward to it and then we will have to find something else to hate. We’ll see.

I was in a semi-public place today when a semi-stranger walked up to me and said, “Aren’t you the gal that was in the paper yesterday?” I could have fallen over right there in front of him. Yes. Yes, I am the gal you saw in the paper. I am the newest columnist for our lovely local paper, writing every other week a column about- cooking. Are you surprised? I am.

I am A Writer. The semi-stranger said that he was looking forward to reading more from me in coming weeks. Did you get that? I had to go back and read it real slow- someone I don’t know liked something I wrote that was published in a newspaper. Oh. My. Word.

What does this have to do with the Manly Art of Knitting? Nothing. I just like the picture. A lot. Knitting is totally a manly art, especially if you knit while on a horse, dressed like a cowboy. Just sayin’.

That has been another episode of Random Things with Ann.

Tune in next week for more of the same!

-A

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

