Home » in the kitchen » i’m his sweet potato

i’m his sweet potato

Let’s have some fun with Sweet Potatoes, shall we?

I have four of them sitting in the kitchen right now, skulking on our little cupboard pantry and I think it is their time to be made into something fantastic. Every dog has its day, every star has an appointed corner of the sky, every potato must have its dish.

True?

True.

As a cook, I am not that familiar with sweet potatoes. If we are utterly honest, we will admit that they are funny looking tubers, almost as if they were trying to be ‘real’ potatoes and missed the mark – by a long shot. Where I come from they are usually served at Thanksgiving, buried in a sticky sweet casserole, smothered in marshmallows. I have spent a good deal of time ignoring sweet potatoes at such holiday buffets but as I experiment and include them in more and more dishes that have nothing to do with marshmallows, I begin to have some confidence in the food as something that can hold its own in the daily dinner.

I made up this smooth and satisfying savory pie the other night while scrounging around for something to make  Alex when he came home for lunch. I think it was safe to assume that it was hit since we ate nearly the entire thing in one sitting.

Savory Sweet Potato Pie

1 large onion, thinly sliced

1 garlic clove, minced

2 medium sized sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks

1 ounce any cheese, grated (I used some semi-hard Jarlsberg, which reminded me very much of Swiss. Yum.)

1 tsp garlic powder (we really like garlic) (A Lot)

1 cup milk

2 eggs, well beaten

1 tsp salt

pepper

olive oil

one 9″ pie crust

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees

Place your sweet potato chunks into a pot with water and start them boiling. While the potatoes cook, caramelize the onions and garlic in olive oil over medium heat. Go slow. I have a tendency to burn the onions instead of caramelizing them. It is simply because I am impatient. Patience makes for good food. It will be worth the time if you let the onions cook at their own pace. I made my own pie crust, and if you want to do the same, this would be a good time to do that. Line your pie plate with the crust and set it aside. When the onions and garlic are not burned, not scorched, not engulfed, but caramelized, take them off the stove and spread them over the crust in the plate. Sprinkle half of your grated cheese onto the onions.

By now the potatoes are probably feeling rather forgotten, don’t let them boil for too long lest they fall apart (c’est melodramatic). Strain out the water and then give them a rigorous go-to with a potato masher. Add your salt, pepper, garlic, and the other half of your cheese. Stir well.  Add the milk, which should cool the potatoes enough for you to be able to stir in the eggs. Now, pour the potato mixture over the onions in the pie plate. The whole thing can go into the oven at once.

As We All Know- my oven and I don’t always see eye-to-eye, which means that I hesitate to give you exact temperatures and times for baking. However, I feel it something of a duty to give you at least a rough idea, so, mine cooked at 300 degrees for about 40 minutes. I’m not sure what that would mean for *your* oven, but I’m thinking half an hour in a 350 degrees should be fine. It’s done when the crust is golden and the center of the pie is firm. It will get just the slightest bit of a brown flush over it. It’s good warm, or you can let it cool and eat it cold, too.

Slice into generous portions and enjoy with someone special in the middle of the night.

 

 

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

