Home » days on end » taking a break for oatmeal

taking a break for oatmeal

I am three exams, four assignments away from completing Freelance Writing 101.

I can’t believe I am about to finish something that I started, especially something scholastic.

I’m in the final length, the home stretch, the last lap-

I need some brain food. I need some oatmeal.

And when I say oatmeal, I don’t mean that pasty, pre-chewed, Oliver-Twist-gruelesque instant junk, I mean OatMeal-

the stuff our great-grandmother’s conquered the Wild, Wild West on.

(Maybe.)

This is how my rolled oats roll;

Andi’s Not-so-Famous Oatmeal

1 1/2 cups water

3/4 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1/4 cup Bob’s Red Mills 10 Grain Hot Cereal

2 Tbsp flax seeds (whole or ground)

1/8 cup raisins (or however many raisins you want…)

1/4 cup yogurt (I am currently in love with Cabot’s Greek Yogurt, a serving of which has as much protein as an egg and whose heavenly taste really makes all other yogurts seem insipid. Sorry, Yoplait.)

pinch salt

brown sugar or maple syrup to flavor, if desired

This recipe will fill me twice, or once, depending on how long I’ve gone without eating, or how Wild the West is that I happen to be taming.

Heat the water. Don’t stand there and watch it boil like a Zombie, Andi- do something productive! Fold laundry, do dishes, water house plants, finish that pesky exam! When the water is boiling energetically (the energetically part is rather important), add a pinch of salt and the 10 Grain cereal. I love Bob, he grinds some tasty, healthy grains in that red mill of his. And how can you *not* like someone who looks so nice and grandfatherly?

So- the cereal is in. Stir it a couple of times and let it cook for a minute or two, then add your oatmeal. They should tell you how to cook it on the package, but I barely ever follow those sorts of things so I just cook it enough to soften it- about five minutes or so, but not more! I’m into ‘granola-oatmeal’ that still has its shape, al dente. During the last minute, add the raisins so they can soften a bit, and any sweetener that you desire. Remove from heat, scoop your portion into your bowl and stir in the flaxseed. I don’t add it but just before I am about to eat because flax seed goes gooey at the drop of a hat, it makes its own gelatinous substance when exposed to liquid. Last, but absolutely not least, the yogurt gets dumped in and viola- you have a meal that borders on perfection.

Protein. Fiber. Fruit. Grains. Omega 3. B vitamins. Gut-friendly Bacteria. Maple Syrup. Dairy.

Now I can finish the course, and finish well at that.

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

