Home » in the kitchen » the enchanted brussel sprout

the enchanted brussel sprout

So.

I’m really getting into this whole “less-meat-and-cheese-and-carbs-and-gravy” diet. Really. I even went to the library the other day and rented out a book entitled, “The ALMOST Vegetarian”. *but wait there’s more!* ย I then went as far as to *read* said almost vegetarian cookbook and pick out some absolutely hypnotizing eggplant recipes contained therein to try next week.

Oh my.

Is anybody getting this on camera?

I find myself thinking about cooking all the time. All The Time. I think about cooking vegetables *without* cheese. I ponder making meals *without* white rice or potatoes as the main side dish. I consider creative ways to use less breaded and deep-fried meat- in fact, I am going so far as to consider using less meat in general. It’s given my mind an interesting new toy to play with while the day goes by. I’m thinking about things like “supplementary protein sources” aka “beans” and “alternative grain side dishes” aka “quinoa” and “brown rice”. It’s fascinating. How can I make this taste ‘fresher’? How can I make this more nutritious- how nutritious can I make each bite and still have it be delicious? How can I use less and get more? How can we eat really, really well without absolutely breaking the bank? Unfortunately for my other enterprises, my interest in culinary experiments has far eclipsed my desire to try new knitting patterns or figure out a marketing scheme for my cheesy mug sweaters. Or even writing- I’d rather be figuring out how to incorporate winsome little grains I’ve never tasted into our daily fare. Don’t ask me about the weather, talk to me of stone-like dried beans and how to make them something my stomach doesn’t turn and flee from. Is it snowing? I don’t know- how do you cook eggplants other than in eggplant parmesan?

Does my husband even LIKE eggplant?

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “the enchanted brussel sprout

  1. Sounds like great times! I love to find new recipes and try them. When I read Brussels sprouts I thought of this recipe right away. http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/11/sauteed-brussels-sprouts-with-bacon.html I know this has bacon in it, but it is pretty good! Even I enjoyed it! ๐Ÿ™‚ The only thing is the texture, which reminded me a bit of silage or cow feed, but this coming from the girl who analyzes all food textures. That website in general is great for recipes and ideas as she is pretty frugal. The best to you in your (healthy) cooking endeavors! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Awesome! Alex will laugh at the bacon, but it sounds delicious, and if “even you liked it”, I’m sure it will be ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m excited to check out that site- thanks so much…..

"The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook." Julia Child

